Sixth International Conference on Principles of
Knowledge Representation and Reasoning

Trento, Italy
June 2-5, 1998

(with colocated workshops
May 30-June 1 and June 6-8, 1998)


New! -- Outstanding Paper Award

Explicit representations of knowledge manipulated by inference algorithms provide an important foundation for much work in Artificial Intelligence, including natural language dialogue systems, high level vision, robotics and other knowledge based systems.
The KR conferences have established themselves as the leading forum for timely, in-depth presentation of progress in the theory and principles underlying the representation and computational manipulation of knowledge. The traditional very high standard of papers has been maintained at KR98; to acknowledge this, a best paper award will be made, based primarily on paper content but also on the presentation of the paper at the conference.
Expanding on that role, KR'98 will be a place for the exchange of news, issues, and results among the entire community of researchers in the principles and practices of knowledge representation and reasoning systems.

We look forward to meeting you in Trento.

Tony Cohn, Len Schubert, and Stuart Shapiro

Conference Local Secretariat

KR'98 secretariat
Via S. Croce 77
38100 Trento, Italy
Telephone: +39 (461) 210-216
Fax: +39 (461) 980-436
World Wide Web:

Conference and colocated Workshops
Full Brochure
(WARNING: Opening Reception location has been changed)
General information Technical program
Registration, Accommodation,
and Excursion information
Traveling and Tourist information
Colocated Workshops
(WARNING: KRNL'98 workshop has been canceled)

Download full brochure and forms
ready to print
PDF Adobe
Conference and Workshops Information Brochure [get]
Conference and Workshops Registration Form [get]
Hotel-Banquet-Excursion Reservation Form [get]

Conference Committee

Conference chair
Stuart C. Shapiro
Department of Computer Science & Center for Cognitive Science
State University of New York at Buffalo, USA
Program chairs
Anthony G. Cohn
Division of AI
School of Computer Studies
University of Leeds
Leeds, LS2 9JT, UK

Lenhart Schubert
Computer Science Department
University of Rochester
Rochester, NY 14627-0226, USA

Program Committee Members
James Allen (U. Rochester, USA)
Giuseppe Attardi (U. Pisa, IT)
Franz Baader (RWTH Aachen, DE)
Fahiem Bacchus (U. Waterloo, Canada)
John Bell (QMW Coll., UK)
Alexander Bochman (Bar-Ilan U., IL)
Mark Boddy (Honeywell Tech. Cent., USA)
Alex Borgida (Rutgers, USA)
Craig Boutilier (UBC, Canada)
Ronen Brafman (UBC, Canada)
Gerhard Brewka (U. Leipzig, DE)
Tom Bylander (U. TX at San Antonio, USA)
Marco Cadoli (U. Roma, La Sap., IT)
Ernest Davis (NYU, USA)
James Delgrande (Simon Fraser U, Canada)
Francesco Donini (U. Roma, La Sap., IT)
Didier Dubois (U. Paul Sabatier, FR)
Alan Frisch (U. York, UK)
Antony Galton (U. Exeter, UK)
Hector Geffner (U. Simon Bolivar, VE)
Malik Ghallab (LAAS-CNRS, FR)
Robert Givan Jr. (Purdue U., USA)
Georg Gottlob (T.U. Wien, AT)
Adam Grove (NEC Res. Inst., USA)
Thomas Gruber (Intraspect Software, USA)
Nicola Guarino (LADSEB-CNR, IT)
Peter Haddawy (U. WI-Milwaukee, USA)
Bernhard Hollunder (Interactive Objects Software, DE)
Henry Kautz (AT&T, USA)
Jana Koehler (Albert-Ludwigs-U., DE)
Gerhard Lakemeyer (RWTH Aachen, DE)

Neal Lesh (U. Rochester, Mitsubishi Electric Labs., USA)
Vladimir Lifschitz (U. Texas, USA)
Gerard Ligozat (U. Paris-Sud, FR)
Fangzhen Lin (Hong Kong U. of Science, HK)
Robert MacGregor (USC/ISI, USA)
David McAllester (AT&T, USA)
L. Thorne McCarty (Rutgers, USA)
Deborah McGuinness (AT&T, USA)
Jack Minker (U. MD, USA)
Leora Morgenstern (IBM TJ Watson, USA)
Bernhard Nebel (Albert-Ludwigs-U., DE)
Wolfgang Nejdl (U. Hannover, DE)
Werner Nutt (U. des Saarlandes, DE)
Hans Juergen Ohlbach (Imperial College, UK)
Fiora Pirri (U. Roma, La Sap., IT)
Massimo Poesio (U. Edinburgh, UK)
David Poole (UBC, Canada)
Teodor Przymusinski, Teodor (UC Riverside, USA)
Anand Rao (AAII, AU)
Raymond Reiter (U. Toronto, Canada)
Irina Rish (UC Irvine, USA)
Stuart Russell (UC Berkeley, USA)
Marco Schaerf (U. Roma, La Sap., IT)
Bart Selman (AT&T, USA)
Murray Shanahan (QMW Coll., UK)
Yoav Shoham (Stanford U., USA)
Maria Simi (U. Pisa, IT)
Aaron Sloman (U. Birmingham, UK)
Michael Thielscher (Darmstadt U. Technology, DE)
Miroslaw Truszczynski (U. Kentucky, USA)
Peter van Beek (U. Alberta, Canada)
Mary-Anne Williams (U. of Newcastle, AU)
Local Arrangements
Fausto Giunchiglia (chair),
Morena Carli, Luciano Serafini

IRST-ITC, Trento, Italy
Workshops coordination
Lin Padgham (chair)
RMIT, Melbourne, Australia

Paolo Traverso (local organisation)
IRST-ITC, Trento, Italy

Publicity chair
Enrico Franconi
IRST-ITC, Trento, Italy
Francesco Donini
University of Rome ``La Sapienza'', Italy

Sponsored by KR, Inc.
With support from ITC-IRST,
In cooperation with AAAI.

KRGo to KR Home Page.
Last modified: Tue Jun 16 14:00:11 EDT 1998